Warrior Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules
A Four Horsemen Enterprises Rules Set
 
  FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups AlbumAlbum   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Detachment Queries

 
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules Forum Index -> Egroup Archives
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message

Recruit
Recruit


Joined: 12 Apr 2006
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Thu Feb 24, 2005 9:25 pm    Post subject: Detachment Queries


Hello Jon,
Could you please clarify the following for me.

1) If a body exchanges ranks, is this done with no disorder penalty
regardless of the troops involved?

2) If it is performed as a counter does it have to have one of the
enabling reasons listed in 6.14?

If as an approach does it have to be within 480 paces of known enemy?

3) Rule 2.53 says that a combined unit is a single body for all
purposes except as expressly stated in the rules.

In the Khmer example given on P16 the LHI are allowed to counter
back through the elephants in a legal but disordering penetration
(6.52).

Section 6.52 says 'Troops can voluntarily interpenetrate another
friendly body'... If the LHI and the Elephants are one body are they
still allowed to interpenetrate as if two bodies. (I hope this is
clear!)

4) Finally, on a different section 6.45 says that if a unit in
skirmish formation makes any type of turn (180 or 90 degrees)...it
reverts to a block of the same frontage. So, if a unit 3 elements
wide and two deep turns 90 degrees how does it form?

i.e. E1 E2 E3
E4 E5 E6 turns 90 degrees into...?

Thanks once again for your help. Just trying to ask even these
questions clearly makes me realise how difficult it must be to write
a set of rules :)

Raphael

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message  

Recruit
Recruit


Joined: 12 Apr 2006
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Tue Mar 01, 2005 12:07 am    Post subject: Detachment Queries


Hello Jon,

In message 16915 I asked a few questions about detachments. Have you
any response yet. (The diagram of the skirmishers isn't 100% clear,
they should just be in two ranks of 3 elements).

Also, 6.45, 4th paragraph, 1st sentence 'seems' to imply that
skirmishers cannot move straight forward. Is this your intent?

Thanks, Raphael

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message  
joncleaves
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 16447

PostPosted: Tue Mar 01, 2005 12:13 am    Post subject: Re: Detachment Queries


Hello Jon,

In message 16915 I asked a few questions about detachments. Have you
any response yet. (The diagram of the skirmishers isn't 100% clear,
they should just be in two ranks of 3 elements).>>

It is too involved for me to answer from work - please be patient.

<<Also, 6.45, 4th paragraph, 1st sentence 'seems' to imply that
skirmishers cannot move straight forward. Is this your intent?>>

Oh no. they certainly can. they are just the only unit/formation that can move
straight back in a counter.

J

Thanks, Raphael


_________________
Roll Up and Win!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message  
joncleaves
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 16447

PostPosted: Tue Mar 01, 2005 5:40 pm    Post subject: Re: Detachment Queries


<<1) If a body exchanges ranks, is this done with no disorder penalty
regardless of the troops involved?>>
[
Correct.

<<2) If it is performed as a counter does it have to have one of the
enabling reasons listed in 6.14? >>
[
Yes.

<<If as an approach does it have to be within 480 paces of known enemy?>>
[
Yes.

<<3) Rule 2.53 says that a combined unit is a single body for all
purposes except as expressly stated in the rules.

In the Khmer example given on P16 the LHI are allowed to counter
back through the elephants in a legal but disordering penetration
(6.52).>>
[
Yes, because the LHI are separating in that move and at that point are no longer
part of a combined unit.

<<Section 6.52 says 'Troops can voluntarily interpenetrate another
friendly body'... If the LHI and the Elephants are one body are they
still allowed to interpenetrate as if two bodies. (I hope this is
clear!)>>
[
Only when they are separate or separating.

<<4) Finally, on a different section 6.45 says that if a unit in
skirmish formation makes any type of turn (180 or 90 degrees)...it
reverts to a block of the same frontage. So, if a unit 3 elements
wide and two deep turns 90 degrees how does it form?>>
[
It becomes a column one wide and six deep. The 'reversion' is immediate and
precedes the turn.

<<Thanks once again for your help. Just trying to ask even these
questions clearly makes me realise how difficult it must be to write
a set of rules Smile>>

Nah - anyone can do it. Just ask the guys on the group...lol
Thanks, though.
Jon


_________________
Roll Up and Win!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message  
Display posts from previous:   
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules Forum Index -> Egroup Archives All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group