Warrior Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules
A Four Horsemen Enterprises Rules Set
 
  FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups AlbumAlbum   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Dismount question

 
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules Forum Index -> Egroup Archives
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message

Recruit
Recruit


Joined: 12 Apr 2006
Posts: 32

PostPosted: Tue Mar 22, 2005 5:15 pm    Post subject: Dismount question


If a 2E unit of non-Mongol cavalry (or Mongol LC) dismounts, is the
resulting 1E unit considered shielded if the original unit included
one shielded and one unshielded element? What if one element is HC
and the other MC? If the elements are differently armed?

Neither 2.25, 2.33, nor 6.6 seemed to clarify this.

Thanks,
Miles Gregarius

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message  
joncleaves
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 16447

PostPosted: Tue Mar 22, 2005 5:49 pm    Post subject: Re: Dismount question


Good question.

The answer is, the player may choose which element of the two dismounting will
be counted as the base element for determining the dismounted troop type.

Jon

-----Original Message-----
From: Miles <yapisu2003@...>
To: WarriorRules@yahoogroups.com
Sent: Tue, 22 Mar 2005 14:15:33 -0000
Subject: [WarriorRules] Dismount question




If a 2E unit of non-Mongol cavalry (or Mongol LC) dismounts, is the
resulting 1E unit considered shielded if the original unit included
one shielded and one unshielded element? What if one element is HC
and the other MC? If the elements are differently armed?

Neither 2.25, 2.33, nor 6.6 seemed to clarify this.

Thanks,
Miles Gregarius






Yahoo! Groups Links






[Non-text portions of this message have been removed]


_________________
Roll Up and Win!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message  
Mark Stone
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 12 Apr 2006
Posts: 2102
Location: Buckley, WA

PostPosted: Tue Mar 22, 2005 6:53 pm    Post subject: Re: Dismount question


--- On March 22 Jon Cleaves said: ---

>
> Good question.
>
> The answer is, the player may choose which element of the two dismounting will
> be counted as the base element for determining the dismounted troop type.
>
> Jon
>
>> -----Original Message-----
>> From: Miles <yapisu2003@y...>
>>
>> If a 2E unit of non-Mongol cavalry (or Mongol LC) dismounts, is the
>> resulting 1E unit....
>>

Well that just shows how little I know. I would have thought that the answer was
that such unit could not dismount, as the only allowable 1E bodies in Warrior
are staff elements.


-Mark Stone

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message   MSN Messenger
joncleaves
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 16447

PostPosted: Tue Mar 22, 2005 7:15 pm    Post subject: Re: Dismount question


From 6.61, next to last sentences:

"As an exception to the normal rules for unit size, a dismounted unit may have a
size of one element. Theoretical ‘part elements’ are lost when dismounting."

Not used very often, and for good reason...lol

J

-----Original Message-----
From: Mark Stone <mark@...>
To: warrior <WarriorRules@yahoogroups.com>
Sent: Tue, 22 Mar 2005 15:53:57 +0000
Subject: Re: [WarriorRules] Dismount question



--- On March 22 Jon Cleaves said: ---

>
> Good question.
>
> The answer is, the player may choose which element of the two dismounting will
> be counted as the base element for determining the dismounted troop type.
>
> Jon
>
>> -----Original Message-----
>> From: Miles <yapisu2003@y...>
>>
>> If a 2E unit of non-Mongol cavalry (or Mongol LC) dismounts, is the
>> resulting 1E unit....
>>

Well that just shows how little I know. I would have thought that the answer was
that such unit could not dismount, as the only allowable 1E bodies in Warrior
are staff elements.


-Mark Stone




Yahoo! Groups Links






[Non-text portions of this message have been removed]


_________________
Roll Up and Win!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message  

Recruit
Recruit


Joined: 12 Apr 2006
Posts: 156

PostPosted: Fri Nov 11, 2005 5:34 pm    Post subject: Dismount Question


Jon

A 2E unit of heavy cavalry dismounts, 1 element is shielded, the other
is not.

Is the resulting 1E unit shielded or not?

Thanks
Cole

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message  
joncleaves
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 16447

PostPosted: Mon Nov 14, 2005 10:32 pm    Post subject: Re: Dismount Question


Shielded.

Jon

-----Original Message-----
From: Nicholas Cioran <ncioran@...>
To: WarriorRules@yahoogroups.com
Sent: Fri, 11 Nov 2005 14:34:36 -0000
Subject: [WarriorRules] Dismount Question


Jon

A 2E unit of heavy cavalry dismounts, 1 element is shielded, the other
is not.

Is the resulting 1E unit shielded or not?

Thanks
Cole






Yahoo! Groups Links






[Non-text portions of this message have been removed]


_________________
Roll Up and Win!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message  
joncleaves
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 16447

PostPosted: Fri Dec 16, 2005 8:02 pm    Post subject: Re: Dismount Question


In a message dated 12/16/2005 16:01:43 Central Standard Time,
ncioran@... writes:

Does this rule mean that single element Cavalry generals cannot
dismount, or should there be an exception to allow dismounting 1:1 for
generals?>>

Single element Cav generals cannot dismount without a list rule.

Jon




[Non-text portions of this message have been removed]


_________________
Roll Up and Win!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message  

Recruit
Recruit


Joined: 12 Apr 2006
Posts: 156

PostPosted: Sat Dec 17, 2005 12:58 am    Post subject: Dismount Question


Jon

A questions with regards to the "theoretical 'part elements' are lost"
rule.

Does this rule mean that single element Cavalry generals cannot
dismount, or should there be an exception to allow dismounting 1:1 for
generals?

Thanks
Cole

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message  
Display posts from previous:   
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules Forum Index -> Egroup Archives All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group