View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
Recruit

Joined: 12 Apr 2006 Posts: 187
|
Posted: Tue Nov 16, 2004 10:31 pm Post subject: re-beating a dead horse |
 |
|
My reading of Opposed Flank Marches (14.45) indicates that only one
side has to roll the 5 or 6 for an arrival. When announched, should
the other side also have a flank march on that flank, they declare
it and the two sides compare Flank March point values. The smaller
point value flank march recalls that bound and the other side
arrives next bound without further arrival rolls.
The sticking point has been that a flank march can arrive without
the 'owner' rolling a 5/6.
Thank you,
Roger
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
joncleaves Moderator


Joined: 29 Mar 2006 Posts: 16447
|
Posted: Tue Nov 16, 2004 10:58 pm Post subject: Re: re-beating a dead horse |
 |
|
14.45 saya:
"A flank march arrives on either side table edge. The flank (or side of the
table) is written in deployment orders, and a d6 thrown for arrival during the
events phase each bound but the first. A score of 6 allows the force to make an
approach, march or charge move that bound from the side edge of the enemy rear
zone, 5 from that of the enemy forward zone. "
Nothing in the rest of the rule says there is a time when this die is not
thrown....
Jon
_________________ Roll Up and Win! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Recruit

Joined: 12 Apr 2006 Posts: 187
|
Posted: Tue Nov 16, 2004 11:03 pm Post subject: Re: re-beating a dead horse |
 |
|
Ref Opposed FM - it says after one side rolls for an arrival, the weaker
side recalls and the opposing FM arrives next turn. If the weaker side is
the one who originally rolled the arrival, this seems to indicate the
stronger side arrives without having to roll at all.
Sorry, still befuddled.
R
----- Original Message -----
From: <JonCleaves@...>
To: <WarriorRules@yahoogroups.com>
Sent: Tuesday, November 16, 2004 1:58 PM
Subject: Re: [WarriorRules] re-beating a dead horse
>
> 14.45 saya:
>
> "A flank march arrives on either side table edge. The flank (or side of
> the table) is written in deployment orders, and a d6 thrown for arrival
> during the events phase each bound but the first. A score of 6 allows the
> force to make an approach, march or charge move that bound from the side
> edge of the enemy rear zone, 5 from that of the enemy forward zone. "
>
> Nothing in the rest of the rule says there is a time when this die is not
> thrown....
>
> Jon
>
>
>
>
> Yahoo! Groups Links
>
>
>
>
>
>
>
>
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
joncleaves Moderator


Joined: 29 Mar 2006 Posts: 16447
|
Posted: Tue Nov 16, 2004 11:19 pm Post subject: Re: re-beating a dead horse |
 |
|
Ref Opposed FM - it says after one side rolls for an arrival, the weaker
side recalls and the opposing FM arrives next turn. If the weaker side is
the one who originally rolled the arrival, this seems to indicate the
stronger side arrives without having to roll at all.
Sorry, still befuddled.
R
_________________ Roll Up and Win! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
joncleaves Moderator


Joined: 29 Mar 2006 Posts: 16447
|
Posted: Tue Nov 16, 2004 11:21 pm Post subject: Re: re-beating a dead horse |
 |
|
Roger
The rule reads:
"When an arrival announcement shows that both sides are moving off-table on the
same flank, they
compare the point values of the outflanked forces."
They both roll, but if either rolls an arrival they both come on (the larger
next bound) no matter which of them rolled *successfully*.
Jon
_________________ Roll Up and Win! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Recruit

Joined: 12 Apr 2006 Posts: 187
|
Posted: Tue Nov 16, 2004 11:28 pm Post subject: Re: re-beating a dead horse |
 |
|
Thanks, that was the bone of contention locally.
R
----- Original Message -----
From: <JonCleaves@...>
To: <WarriorRules@yahoogroups.com>
Sent: Tuesday, November 16, 2004 2:21 PM
Subject: Re: [WarriorRules] re-beating a dead horse
>
> Roger
>
> The rule reads:
> "When an arrival announcement shows that both sides are moving off-table
> on the same flank, they
> compare the point values of the outflanked forces."
>
> They both roll, but if either rolls an arrival they both come on (the
> larger next bound) no matter which of them rolled *successfully*.
>
> Jon
>
>
>
>
> Yahoo! Groups Links
>
>
>
>
>
>
>
>
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|