Warrior Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules
A Four Horsemen Enterprises Rules Set
 
  FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups AlbumAlbum   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

re-beating a dead horse

 
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules Forum Index -> Egroup Archives
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message

Recruit
Recruit


Joined: 12 Apr 2006
Posts: 187

PostPosted: Tue Nov 16, 2004 10:31 pm    Post subject: re-beating a dead horse


My reading of Opposed Flank Marches (14.45) indicates that only one
side has to roll the 5 or 6 for an arrival. When announched, should
the other side also have a flank march on that flank, they declare
it and the two sides compare Flank March point values. The smaller
point value flank march recalls that bound and the other side
arrives next bound without further arrival rolls.

The sticking point has been that a flank march can arrive without
the 'owner' rolling a 5/6.

Thank you,

Roger

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message  
joncleaves
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 16447

PostPosted: Tue Nov 16, 2004 10:58 pm    Post subject: Re: re-beating a dead horse


14.45 saya:

"A flank march arrives on either side table edge. The flank (or side of the
table) is written in deployment orders, and a d6 thrown for arrival during the
events phase each bound but the first. A score of 6 allows the force to make an
approach, march or charge move that bound from the side edge of the enemy rear
zone, 5 from that of the enemy forward zone. "

Nothing in the rest of the rule says there is a time when this die is not
thrown....

Jon


_________________
Roll Up and Win!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message  

Recruit
Recruit


Joined: 12 Apr 2006
Posts: 187

PostPosted: Tue Nov 16, 2004 11:03 pm    Post subject: Re: re-beating a dead horse


Ref Opposed FM - it says after one side rolls for an arrival, the weaker
side recalls and the opposing FM arrives next turn. If the weaker side is
the one who originally rolled the arrival, this seems to indicate the
stronger side arrives without having to roll at all.

Sorry, still befuddled.

R


----- Original Message -----
From: <JonCleaves@...>
To: <WarriorRules@yahoogroups.com>
Sent: Tuesday, November 16, 2004 1:58 PM
Subject: Re: [WarriorRules] re-beating a dead horse


>
> 14.45 saya:
>
> "A flank march arrives on either side table edge. The flank (or side of
> the table) is written in deployment orders, and a d6 thrown for arrival
> during the events phase each bound but the first. A score of 6 allows the
> force to make an approach, march or charge move that bound from the side
> edge of the enemy rear zone, 5 from that of the enemy forward zone. "
>
> Nothing in the rest of the rule says there is a time when this die is not
> thrown....
>
> Jon
>
>
>
>
> Yahoo! Groups Links
>
>
>
>
>
>
>
>

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message  
joncleaves
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 16447

PostPosted: Tue Nov 16, 2004 11:19 pm    Post subject: Re: re-beating a dead horse


Ref Opposed FM - it says after one side rolls for an arrival, the weaker
side recalls and the opposing FM arrives next turn. If the weaker side is
the one who originally rolled the arrival, this seems to indicate the
stronger side arrives without having to roll at all.

Sorry, still befuddled.

R


_________________
Roll Up and Win!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message  
joncleaves
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 16447

PostPosted: Tue Nov 16, 2004 11:21 pm    Post subject: Re: re-beating a dead horse


Roger

The rule reads:
"When an arrival announcement shows that both sides are moving off-table on the
same flank, they
compare the point values of the outflanked forces."

They both roll, but if either rolls an arrival they both come on (the larger
next bound) no matter which of them rolled *successfully*.

Jon


_________________
Roll Up and Win!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message  

Recruit
Recruit


Joined: 12 Apr 2006
Posts: 187

PostPosted: Tue Nov 16, 2004 11:28 pm    Post subject: Re: re-beating a dead horse


Thanks, that was the bone of contention locally.

R
----- Original Message -----
From: <JonCleaves@...>
To: <WarriorRules@yahoogroups.com>
Sent: Tuesday, November 16, 2004 2:21 PM
Subject: Re: [WarriorRules] re-beating a dead horse


>
> Roger
>
> The rule reads:
> "When an arrival announcement shows that both sides are moving off-table
> on the same flank, they
> compare the point values of the outflanked forces."
>
> They both roll, but if either rolls an arrival they both come on (the
> larger next bound) no matter which of them rolled *successfully*.
>
> Jon
>
>
>
>
> Yahoo! Groups Links
>
>
>
>
>
>
>
>

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message  
Display posts from previous:   
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules Forum Index -> Egroup Archives All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group