Warrior Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules
A Four Horsemen Enterprises Rules Set
 
  FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups AlbumAlbum   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

River Fordability Rule Question

 
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules Forum Index -> Egroup Archives
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
joncleaves
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 16447

PostPosted: Fri Aug 06, 2004 11:28 am    Post subject: Re: Re: River Fordability Rule Question


In a message dated 8/6/2004 06:51:58 Central Daylight Time,
pcelella@... writes:

I know that there are modifiers to the d6 roll, but still, in
most cases, a roll will be <5. Then the river does not reduce moves
at all - is that correct?>>
Correct. It does not reduce the move distance in this case.

If that's the case, it really only
disorders troops, but if it's a cessation cause of disorder, won't
the troops be steady again in the end phase immediately following
their crossing of the river?>>

Yes. So if there is no enemy there, no big deal.

And their movement hasn't been reduced? >>
Right.


This seems to reduce the terrain effect of a river significantly in
most cases (unless it's a defended obstacle) if I'm ready this
correctly - tell me that I'm not!<>>

You are. But I am not sure what your concern is...

J


[Non-text portions of this message have been removed]


_________________
Roll Up and Win!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message  
joncleaves
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 16447

PostPosted: Fri Aug 06, 2004 11:53 am    Post subject: Re: Re: River Fordability Rule Question


In a message dated 8/6/2004 07:40:34 Central Daylight Time,
pcelella@... writes:

Am I missing something obvious? Is fordibility meant to only occur at
a ford, or is it intended to apply to the entire length of a river?



A ford is open terrain. Fordability is the length.


[Non-text portions of this message have been removed]


_________________
Roll Up and Win!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message  

Legionary
Legionary


Joined: 12 Apr 2006
Posts: 284

PostPosted: Fri Aug 06, 2004 1:54 pm    Post subject: Re: River Fordability Rule Question


>
> Another thing I hadn't noticed - a river can be up to 80p wide! I
> guess that means that if you choose this width, the river will be
> uncrossable except at fords to mounted and close order, and loose
> order will have to halt in front of it before crossing next bound.
> That's cool.>>
> Well, close or mounted could cross it depending on its fordability
(12.3).
>

Sorry to bring this up again, but I checked the fordability rules,
and I am again confused. Of course there's a misprint, where it says
that on a role of <5, "roves" are not reduced but the river is still
an obstacles and still disorders. I assume "roves" is supposed to be
moves. I know that there are modifiers to the d6 roll, but still, in
most cases, a roll will be <5. Then the river does not reduce moves
at all - is that correct? If that's the case, it really only
disorders troops, but if it's a cessation cause of disorder, won't
the troops be steady again in the end phase immediately following
their crossing of the river? And their movement hasn't been reduced?
This seems to reduce the terrain effect of a river significantly in
most cases (unless it's a defended obstacle) if I'm ready this
correctly - tell me that I'm not!

Peter

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message  

Legionary
Legionary


Joined: 12 Apr 2006
Posts: 284

PostPosted: Fri Aug 06, 2004 3:38 pm    Post subject: Re: River Fordability Rule Question


>
> You are. But I am not sure what your concern is...
>

It's not really a concern - just an attempt to get a fix on how
terrain works in Warrior. It had seemed to me from the previous
discussion in this thread, that a river reduces tactical moves of
close order and mounted to 40p, loose and open to 80p, (that's the
way the terrain effects chart reads, btw), but it now appears that
when one considers fordability, that in the majority of games, a
river will not result in a reduction to tactical moves. Units would
move quickly across being simply disordered until the end phase.
That's ok i guess, if that's how the rules work, but I'm trying to
get my arms around an understanding of this.

Am I missing something obvious? Is fordibility meant to only occur at
a ford, or is it intended to apply to the entire length of a river?

Peter

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message  
Tim Grimmett
Legionary
Legionary


Joined: 12 Apr 2006
Posts: 406
Location: Northern Virginia

PostPosted: Sat Aug 14, 2004 11:26 pm    Post subject: Re: Re: River Fordability Rule Question


Jon

I have two questions regarding minor water features:

Are they always considered an obstacle? (The fordability roll does not affect
the MiWF as an inherent obstacle.)

If defending one side of the bank, is the defender always considered on higher
ground if the attacker is in the MiWF?

Tim




JonCleaves@... wrote:
In a message dated 8/6/2004 06:51:58 Central Daylight Time,
pcelella@... writes:

I know that there are modifiers to the d6 roll, but still, in
most cases, a roll will be <5. Then the river does not reduce moves
at all - is that correct?>>
Correct. It does not reduce the move distance in this case.

If that's the case, it really only
disorders troops, but if it's a cessation cause of disorder, won't
the troops be steady again in the end phase immediately following
their crossing of the river?>>

Yes. So if there is no enemy there, no big deal.

And their movement hasn't been reduced? >>
Right.


This seems to reduce the terrain effect of a river significantly in
most cases (unless it's a defended obstacle) if I'm ready this
correctly - tell me that I'm not!<>>

You are. But I am not sure what your concern is...

J


[Non-text portions of this message have been removed]


Yahoo! Groups SponsorADVERTISEMENT


---------------------------------
Yahoo! Groups Links

To visit your group on the web, go to:
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/WarriorRules/

To unsubscribe from this group, send an email to:
WarriorRules-unsubscribe@yahoogroups.com

Your use of Yahoo! Groups is subject to the Yahoo! Terms of Service.




---------------------------------
Do you Yahoo!?
Yahoo! Mail is new and improved - Check it out!

[Non-text portions of this message have been removed]


_________________
Tim
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message [ Hidden ]
joncleaves
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 16447

PostPosted: Mon Aug 16, 2004 4:35 pm    Post subject: Re: Re: River Fordability Rule Question


Jon

I have two questions regarding minor water features:

Are they always considered an obstacle? (The fordability roll does not affect
the MiWF as an inherent obstacle.)>>
[
[
Yes.

<<If defending one side of the bank, is the defender always considered on higher
ground if the attacker is in the MiWF? >>
[
[
No.

Jon


_________________
Roll Up and Win!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message  
Display posts from previous:   
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules Forum Index -> Egroup Archives All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group