 |
Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules A Four Horsemen Enterprises Rules Set
|
View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
joncleaves Moderator


Joined: 29 Mar 2006 Posts: 16447
|
Posted: Fri Aug 06, 2004 11:28 am Post subject: Re: Re: River Fordability Rule Question |
 |
|
In a message dated 8/6/2004 06:51:58 Central Daylight Time,
pcelella@... writes:
I know that there are modifiers to the d6 roll, but still, in
most cases, a roll will be <5. Then the river does not reduce moves
at all - is that correct?>>
Correct. It does not reduce the move distance in this case.
If that's the case, it really only
disorders troops, but if it's a cessation cause of disorder, won't
the troops be steady again in the end phase immediately following
their crossing of the river?>>
Yes. So if there is no enemy there, no big deal.
And their movement hasn't been reduced? >>
Right.
This seems to reduce the terrain effect of a river significantly in
most cases (unless it's a defended obstacle) if I'm ready this
correctly - tell me that I'm not!<>>
You are. But I am not sure what your concern is...
J
[Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
_________________ Roll Up and Win! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
joncleaves Moderator


Joined: 29 Mar 2006 Posts: 16447
|
Posted: Fri Aug 06, 2004 11:53 am Post subject: Re: Re: River Fordability Rule Question |
 |
|
In a message dated 8/6/2004 07:40:34 Central Daylight Time,
pcelella@... writes:
Am I missing something obvious? Is fordibility meant to only occur at
a ford, or is it intended to apply to the entire length of a river?
A ford is open terrain. Fordability is the length.
[Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
_________________ Roll Up and Win! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Legionary

Joined: 12 Apr 2006 Posts: 284
|
Posted: Fri Aug 06, 2004 1:54 pm Post subject: Re: River Fordability Rule Question |
 |
|
>
> Another thing I hadn't noticed - a river can be up to 80p wide! I
> guess that means that if you choose this width, the river will be
> uncrossable except at fords to mounted and close order, and loose
> order will have to halt in front of it before crossing next bound.
> That's cool.>>
> Well, close or mounted could cross it depending on its fordability
(12.3).
>
Sorry to bring this up again, but I checked the fordability rules,
and I am again confused. Of course there's a misprint, where it says
that on a role of <5, "roves" are not reduced but the river is still
an obstacles and still disorders. I assume "roves" is supposed to be
moves. I know that there are modifiers to the d6 roll, but still, in
most cases, a roll will be <5. Then the river does not reduce moves
at all - is that correct? If that's the case, it really only
disorders troops, but if it's a cessation cause of disorder, won't
the troops be steady again in the end phase immediately following
their crossing of the river? And their movement hasn't been reduced?
This seems to reduce the terrain effect of a river significantly in
most cases (unless it's a defended obstacle) if I'm ready this
correctly - tell me that I'm not!
Peter
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Legionary

Joined: 12 Apr 2006 Posts: 284
|
Posted: Fri Aug 06, 2004 3:38 pm Post subject: Re: River Fordability Rule Question |
 |
|
>
> You are. But I am not sure what your concern is...
>
It's not really a concern - just an attempt to get a fix on how
terrain works in Warrior. It had seemed to me from the previous
discussion in this thread, that a river reduces tactical moves of
close order and mounted to 40p, loose and open to 80p, (that's the
way the terrain effects chart reads, btw), but it now appears that
when one considers fordability, that in the majority of games, a
river will not result in a reduction to tactical moves. Units would
move quickly across being simply disordered until the end phase.
That's ok i guess, if that's how the rules work, but I'm trying to
get my arms around an understanding of this.
Am I missing something obvious? Is fordibility meant to only occur at
a ford, or is it intended to apply to the entire length of a river?
Peter
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Tim Grimmett Legionary

Joined: 12 Apr 2006 Posts: 406 Location: Northern Virginia
|
Posted: Sat Aug 14, 2004 11:26 pm Post subject: Re: Re: River Fordability Rule Question |
 |
|
Jon
I have two questions regarding minor water features:
Are they always considered an obstacle? (The fordability roll does not affect
the MiWF as an inherent obstacle.)
If defending one side of the bank, is the defender always considered on higher
ground if the attacker is in the MiWF?
Tim
JonCleaves@... wrote:
In a message dated 8/6/2004 06:51:58 Central Daylight Time,
pcelella@... writes:
I know that there are modifiers to the d6 roll, but still, in
most cases, a roll will be <5. Then the river does not reduce moves
at all - is that correct?>>
Correct. It does not reduce the move distance in this case.
If that's the case, it really only
disorders troops, but if it's a cessation cause of disorder, won't
the troops be steady again in the end phase immediately following
their crossing of the river?>>
Yes. So if there is no enemy there, no big deal.
And their movement hasn't been reduced? >>
Right.
This seems to reduce the terrain effect of a river significantly in
most cases (unless it's a defended obstacle) if I'm ready this
correctly - tell me that I'm not!<>>
You are. But I am not sure what your concern is...
J
[Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
Yahoo! Groups SponsorADVERTISEMENT
---------------------------------
Yahoo! Groups Links
To visit your group on the web, go to:
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/WarriorRules/
To unsubscribe from this group, send an email to:
WarriorRules-unsubscribe@yahoogroups.com
Your use of Yahoo! Groups is subject to the Yahoo! Terms of Service.
---------------------------------
Do you Yahoo!?
Yahoo! Mail is new and improved - Check it out!
[Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
_________________ Tim |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
joncleaves Moderator


Joined: 29 Mar 2006 Posts: 16447
|
Posted: Mon Aug 16, 2004 4:35 pm Post subject: Re: Re: River Fordability Rule Question |
 |
|
Jon
I have two questions regarding minor water features:
Are they always considered an obstacle? (The fordability roll does not affect
the MiWF as an inherent obstacle.)>>
[
[
Yes.
<<If defending one side of the bank, is the defender always considered on higher
ground if the attacker is in the MiWF? >>
[
[
No.
Jon
_________________ Roll Up and Win! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum You cannot attach files in this forum You cannot download files in this forum
|
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group
|