 |
Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules A Four Horsemen Enterprises Rules Set
|
View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
joncleaves Moderator


Joined: 29 Mar 2006 Posts: 16447
|
Posted: Thu Feb 21, 2002 8:48 pm Post subject: Re: Rules Questions 1,2,&3 |
 |
|
<<#1 - In your example of detachments (2.53, p. 16) you
said that countering the LHI back through the
elephants was legal, but disordering.>>
6.521, 5th bullet. the elephants are disordered as they were interpenetrated
by someone who is not LI.
<< #2 - Support (5.131 p. 24) It states that Other troops
(inc. those in orb 6.44) are supported if there is a
steady friendly body anywhere w/in 240 paces. Yet in
Orb (6.44 p. 53) it states that units in orb are
always supported. Which on is it?>>
Orbs are supported. The line in 5.131 is poorly worded and will be added to
the clarification sheet.
<< #3 - Orders (4.51 p. 22). Under Attack and Probe it
states that Bodies containing ANY Irreg A (including
missile troops) must charge (unprompted) if they can.
Yet in Delcaring Charges (6.163 p. 3 under prompting
it states that bodies that do NOT require prompting to
charge are: by a body ENTIRELY of Irreg A troops.
- I'm under the assumption that unless tired troops
containing ANY Irreg A must charge (unpromted) when
capable. There is the stipulation under Probe about
the mounted troops (even if Irreg A) being unable to
charge steady close formation Pike or LTS.>>
You are kinda mixing apples and oranges here. 4.51 is more 'restrictive'
than the general rule in every case. 6.163 ALWAYS applies. 4.51 may modify
what is true in the rules based on what order you have.
You do not have to prompt all Irr A bodies (6.163). But you don't HAVE to
charge with them unless you have certain orders (4.51). 4.51 wins all ties.
Jon, filler of loopholes
_________________ Roll Up and Win! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Todd Kaeser Centurion


Joined: 12 Apr 2006 Posts: 1220 Location: Foxborough, Massachusetts
|
Posted: Fri Feb 22, 2002 12:51 am Post subject: Rules Questions 1,2,&3 |
 |
|
Jon,
First I'd like to say that the rules set is well done
and easy to understand for the most part. I just have
to get memorizing where to find things again.
I have a few questions regarding the Warrior rules
set.
I appologize if these had been asked earlier.
#1 - In your example of detachments (2.53, p. 16) you
said that countering the LHI back through the
elephants was legal, but disordering. However, in
Interpenetration (6.51 p. 54) it states that loose
order infantry through elephants is a voluntary
interpenetration. On Interpenetration and Disorder
(6.521 p. 55) there is no mention of this causing
disorder unless the Elephants themselves move as well.
Is the example incorrect or incomplete or am I
confused?
I was under the assumption (I know never ASSUME) that
a voluntary interpenetration was not disordering
unless both troops were moving or the one that was
interpenetrated was disordered.
#2 - Support (5.131 p. 24) It states that Other troops
(inc. those in orb 6.44) are supported if there is a
steady friendly body anywhere w/in 240 paces. Yet in
Orb (6.44 p. 53) it states that units in orb are
always supported. Which on is it?
#3 - Orders (4.51 p. 22). Under Attack and Probe it
states that Bodies containing ANY Irreg A (including
missile troops) must charge (unprompted) if they can.
Yet in Delcaring Charges (6.163 p. 3 under prompting
it states that bodies that do NOT require prompting to
charge are: by a body ENTIRELY of Irreg A troops.
- I'm under the assumption that unless tired troops
containing ANY Irreg A must charge (unpromted) when
capable. There is the stipulation under Probe about
the mounted troops (even if Irreg A) being unable to
charge steady close formation Pike or LTS.
I know that this rules set was designed to make
interpretation easier, and it has for the most part.
But there are still those people, like me who will
cross reference the rules to look for loopholes and
such.
I may have more questions - I'm only on page 57.
Thanks for all your help.
Todd Kaeser
RC of New England
__________________________________________________
Do You Yahoo!?
Yahoo! Sports - Coverage of the 2002 Olympic Games
http://sports.yahoo.com
_________________ Nolite te Bastardes Carborundorum
"Don't let the Bastards Grind You Down" |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Chris Damour Legionary

Joined: 12 Apr 2006 Posts: 444
|
Posted: Fri Feb 22, 2002 1:12 am Post subject: Re: Rules Questions 1,2,&3 |
 |
|
<<wildly waves hands>> Ooo.. Ooo... Jon, can I please, please, please
answer this one? Todd, check the penultimate bullet in 6.521. (Note,
this hasn't changed BTW...)
On Thu, 21 Feb 2002, Todd Kaeser wrote:
> Jon,
>
> First I'd like to say that the rules set is well done
> and easy to understand for the most part. I just have
> to get memorizing where to find things again.
>
> I have a few questions regarding the Warrior rules
> set.
> I appologize if these had been asked earlier.
>
> #1 - In your example of detachments (2.53, p. 16) you
> said that countering the LHI back through the
> elephants was legal, but disordering. However, in
> Interpenetration (6.51 p. 54) it states that loose
> order infantry through elephants is a voluntary
> interpenetration. On Interpenetration and Disorder
> (6.521 p. 55) there is no mention of this causing
> disorder unless the Elephants themselves move as well.
>
> Is the example incorrect or incomplete or am I
> confused?
> I was under the assumption (I know never ASSUME) that
> a voluntary interpenetration was not disordering
> unless both troops were moving or the one that was
> interpenetrated was disordered.
--
Chris Damour
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Recruit

Joined: 12 Apr 2006 Posts: 210
|
Posted: Fri Feb 22, 2002 2:18 am Post subject: Re: Rules Questions 1,2,&3 |
 |
|
--- In WarriorRules@y..., Todd Kaeser <hailkaeser@y...> wrote:
>
> I know that this rules set was designed to make
> interpretation easier, and it has for the most part.
> But there are still those people, like me who will
> cross reference the rules to look for loopholes and
> such.
Cross reference them looking for loopholes?
I don't paint fast enough to spend time searching for problems in the
rules. I stick to the ones that are produced by my own ignorance and
misreading.
John M.
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Ewan McNay Moderator


Joined: 12 Apr 2006 Posts: 2780 Location: Albany, NY, US
|
Posted: Fri Feb 22, 2002 3:14 am Post subject: Re: Rules Questions 1,2,&3 |
 |
|
On Thu, 21 Feb 2002, Todd Kaeser wrote:
> I know that this rules set was designed to make
> interpretation easier, and it has for the most part.
> But there are still those people, like me who will
> cross reference the rules to look for loopholes and
> such.
...and those like me, who will attempt to jump through such loopholes with
all four feet of an elephant...
...assuming that I get to play more than once per year sometime soon!
Tim, I'll probably be up for PointCon - but as much notice of a date as
possible would be appreciated.
Ewan
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Todd Kaeser Centurion


Joined: 12 Apr 2006 Posts: 1220 Location: Foxborough, Massachusetts
|
Posted: Fri Feb 22, 2002 3:29 am Post subject: Re: Rules Questions 1,2,&3 |
 |
|
Jon,
Thanks for the info.
Orbs are always supported regardless of anyone near
them.
Got the rest.
Todd
--- JonCleaves@... wrote:
>
>
> <<#1 - In your example of detachments (2.53, p. 16)
> you
> said that countering the LHI back through the
> elephants was legal, but disordering.>>
>
> 6.521, 5th bullet. the elephants are disordered as
> they were interpenetrated
> by someone who is not LI.
>
> << #2 - Support (5.131 p. 24) It states that Other
> troops
> (inc. those in orb 6.44) are supported if there is
> a
> steady friendly body anywhere w/in 240 paces. Yet
> in
> Orb (6.44 p. 53) it states that units in orb are
> always supported. Which on is it?>>
>
> Orbs are supported. The line in 5.131 is poorly
> worded and will be added to
> the clarification sheet.
>
> << #3 - Orders (4.51 p. 22). Under Attack and
> Probe it
> states that Bodies containing ANY Irreg A
> (including
> missile troops) must charge (unprompted) if they
> can.
> Yet in Delcaring Charges (6.163 p. 3 under
> prompting
> it states that bodies that do NOT require prompting
> to
> charge are: by a body ENTIRELY of Irreg A troops.
> - I'm under the assumption that unless tired troops
> containing ANY Irreg A must charge (unpromted) when
> capable. There is the stipulation under Probe
> about
> the mounted troops (even if Irreg A) being unable
> to
> charge steady close formation Pike or LTS.>>
>
> You are kinda mixing apples and oranges here. 4.51
> is more 'restrictive'
> than the general rule in every case. 6.163 ALWAYS
> applies. 4.51 may modify
> what is true in the rules based on what order you
> have.
> You do not have to prompt all Irr A bodies (6.163).
> But you don't HAVE to
> charge with them unless you have certain orders
> (4.51). 4.51 wins all ties.
>
> Jon, filler of loopholes
>
__________________________________________________
Do You Yahoo!?
Yahoo! Sports - Coverage of the 2002 Olympic Games
http://sports.yahoo.com
_________________ Nolite te Bastardes Carborundorum
"Don't let the Bastards Grind You Down" |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum You cannot attach files in this forum You cannot download files in this forum
|
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group
|