  | 
				Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules A Four Horsemen Enterprises Rules Set   
				 | 
			 
		 
		 
	
		| View previous topic :: View next topic   | 
	 
	
	
		| Author | 
		Message | 
	 
	
		joncleaves Moderator
  
  
  Joined: 29 Mar 2006 Posts: 16447
 
  | 
		
			
				 Posted: Thu Feb 21, 2002 8:48 pm    Post subject: Re: Rules Questions 1,2,&3 | 
				      | 
			 
			
				
  | 
			 
			
				
 
<<#1 - In your example of detachments (2.53, p. 16) you
 
  said that countering the LHI back through the
 
  elephants was legal, but disordering.>>
 
 
6.521, 5th bullet.  the elephants are disordered as they were interpenetrated
 
by someone who is not LI.
 
 
  << #2 - Support (5.131 p. 24) It states that Other troops
 
  (inc. those in orb 6.44) are supported if there is a
 
  steady friendly body anywhere w/in 240 paces.  Yet in
 
  Orb (6.44 p. 53) it states that units in orb are
 
  always supported.  Which on is it?>>
 
 
Orbs are supported.  The line in 5.131 is poorly worded and will be added to
 
the clarification sheet.
 
 
  << #3 - Orders (4.51 p. 22).  Under Attack and Probe it
 
  states that Bodies containing ANY Irreg A (including
 
  missile troops) must charge (unprompted) if they can.
 
  Yet in Delcaring Charges (6.163 p. 3  under prompting
 
  it states that bodies that do NOT require prompting to
 
  charge are: by a body ENTIRELY of Irreg A troops.
 
  - I'm under the assumption that unless tired troops
 
  containing ANY Irreg A must charge (unpromted) when
 
  capable.  There is the stipulation under Probe about
 
  the mounted troops (even if Irreg A) being unable to
 
  charge steady close formation Pike or LTS.>>
 
 
You are kinda mixing apples and oranges here.  4.51 is more 'restrictive'
 
than the general rule in every case.  6.163 ALWAYS applies.  4.51 may modify
 
what is true in the rules based on what order you have.
 
You do not have to prompt all Irr A bodies (6.163).  But you don't HAVE to
 
charge with them unless you have certain  orders (4.51).  4.51 wins all ties.
 
 
Jon, filler of loopholes
 
 
                                                                                                               _________________ Roll Up and Win! | 
			 
		  | 
	 
	
		| Back to top | 
		 | 
	 
	
		  | 
	 
	
		Todd Kaeser Centurion
  
  
  Joined: 12 Apr 2006 Posts: 1221 Location: Foxborough, Massachusetts
  | 
		
			
				 Posted: Fri Feb 22, 2002 12:51 am    Post subject: Rules Questions 1,2,&3 | 
				      | 
			 
			
				
  | 
			 
			
				
 
Jon,
 
 
First I'd like to say that the rules set is well done
 
and easy to understand for the most part.  I just have
 
to get memorizing where to find things again.
 
 
I have a few questions regarding the Warrior rules
 
set.
 
I appologize if these had been asked earlier.
 
 
#1 - In your example of detachments (2.53, p. 16) you
 
said that countering the LHI back through the
 
elephants was legal, but disordering.  However, in
 
Interpenetration (6.51 p. 54) it states that loose
 
order infantry through elephants is a voluntary
 
interpenetration.  On Interpenetration and Disorder
 
(6.521 p. 55) there is no mention of this causing
 
disorder unless the Elephants themselves move as well.
 
 
Is the example incorrect or incomplete or am I
 
confused?
 
I was under the assumption (I know never ASSUME) that
 
a voluntary interpenetration was not disordering
 
unless both troops were moving or the one that was
 
interpenetrated was disordered.
 
 
#2 - Support (5.131 p. 24) It states that Other troops
 
(inc. those in orb 6.44) are supported if there is a
 
steady friendly body anywhere w/in 240 paces.  Yet in
 
Orb (6.44 p. 53) it states that units in orb are
 
always supported.  Which on is it?
 
 
 
#3 - Orders (4.51 p. 22).  Under Attack and Probe it
 
states that Bodies containing ANY Irreg A (including
 
missile troops) must charge (unprompted) if they can.
 
Yet in Delcaring Charges (6.163 p. 3  under prompting
 
it states that bodies that do NOT require prompting to
 
charge are: by a body ENTIRELY of Irreg A troops.
 
- I'm under the assumption that unless tired troops
 
containing ANY Irreg A must charge (unpromted) when
 
capable.  There is the stipulation under Probe about
 
the mounted troops (even if Irreg A) being unable to
 
charge steady close formation Pike or LTS.
 
 
 
I know that this rules set was designed to make
 
interpretation easier, and it has for the most part.
 
But there are still those people, like me who will
 
cross reference the rules to look for loopholes and
 
such.
 
 
I may have more questions - I'm only on page 57.
 
 
Thanks for all your help.
 
 
Todd Kaeser
 
RC of New England
 
 
__________________________________________________
 
Do You Yahoo!?
 
Yahoo! Sports - Coverage of the 2002 Olympic Games
 
http://sports.yahoo.com
 
 
                                                                                                         _________________ Nolite te Bastardes Carborundorum
 
"Don't let the Bastards Grind You Down" | 
			 
		  | 
	 
	
		| Back to top | 
		 | 
	 
	
		  | 
	 
	
		Chris Damour Legionary
  
 
  Joined: 12 Apr 2006 Posts: 444
 
  | 
		
			
				 Posted: Fri Feb 22, 2002 1:12 am    Post subject: Re: Rules Questions 1,2,&3 | 
				      | 
			 
			
				
  | 
			 
			
				
 
<<wildly waves hands>> Ooo.. Ooo... Jon, can I please, please, please
 
answer this one?  Todd, check the penultimate bullet in 6.521.  (Note,
 
this hasn't changed BTW...)
 
 
On Thu, 21 Feb 2002, Todd Kaeser wrote:
 
> Jon,
 
>
 
> First I'd like to say that the rules set is well done
 
> and easy to understand for the most part.  I just have
 
> to get memorizing where to find things again.
 
>
 
> I have a few questions regarding the Warrior rules
 
> set.
 
> I appologize if these had been asked earlier.
 
>
 
> #1 - In your example of detachments (2.53, p. 16) you
 
> said that countering the LHI back through the
 
> elephants was legal, but disordering.  However, in
 
> Interpenetration (6.51 p. 54) it states that loose
 
> order infantry through elephants is a voluntary
 
> interpenetration.  On Interpenetration and Disorder
 
> (6.521 p. 55) there is no mention of this causing
 
> disorder unless the Elephants themselves move as well.
 
>
 
> Is the example incorrect or incomplete or am I
 
> confused?
 
> I was under the assumption (I know never ASSUME) that
 
> a voluntary interpenetration was not disordering
 
> unless both troops were moving or the one that was
 
> interpenetrated was disordered.
 
 
--
 
Chris Damour
 
 
                                                                                                      | 
			 
		  | 
	 
	
		| Back to top | 
		 | 
	 
	
		  | 
	 
	
		 Recruit
  
 
  Joined: 12 Apr 2006 Posts: 210
 
  | 
		
			
				 Posted: Fri Feb 22, 2002 2:18 am    Post subject: Re: Rules Questions 1,2,&3 | 
				      | 
			 
			
				
  | 
			 
			
				
 
--- In WarriorRules@y..., Todd Kaeser <hailkaeser@y...> wrote:
 
>
 
> I know that this rules set was designed to make
 
> interpretation easier, and it has for the most part.
 
> But there are still those people, like me who will
 
> cross reference the rules to look for loopholes and
 
> such.
 
 
 
Cross reference them looking for loopholes?
 
 
I don't paint fast enough to spend time searching for problems in the
 
rules. I stick to the ones that are produced by my own ignorance and
 
misreading.
 
 
John M.
 
 
                                                                                                        | 
			 
		  | 
	 
	
		| Back to top | 
		 | 
	 
	
		  | 
	 
	
		Ewan McNay Moderator
  
  
  Joined: 12 Apr 2006 Posts: 2780 Location: Albany, NY, US
  | 
		
			
				 Posted: Fri Feb 22, 2002 3:14 am    Post subject: Re: Rules Questions 1,2,&3 | 
				      | 
			 
			
				
  | 
			 
			
				
 
On Thu, 21 Feb 2002, Todd Kaeser wrote:
 
> I know that this rules set was designed to make
 
> interpretation easier, and it has for the most part.
 
> But there are still those people, like me who will
 
> cross reference the rules to look for loopholes and
 
> such.
 
 
...and those like me, who will attempt to jump through such loopholes with
 
all four feet of an elephant...
 
 
...assuming that I get to play more than once per year sometime soon!
 
Tim, I'll probably be up for PointCon - but as much notice of a date as
 
possible would be appreciated.
 
 
Ewan
 
 
                                                                                                               | 
			 
		  | 
	 
	
		| Back to top | 
		 | 
	 
	
		  | 
	 
	
		Todd Kaeser Centurion
  
  
  Joined: 12 Apr 2006 Posts: 1221 Location: Foxborough, Massachusetts
  | 
		
			
				 Posted: Fri Feb 22, 2002 3:29 am    Post subject: Re: Rules Questions 1,2,&3 | 
				      | 
			 
			
				
  | 
			 
			
				
 
Jon,
 
 
Thanks for the info.
 
 
Orbs are always supported regardless of anyone near
 
them.
 
 
Got the rest.
 
 
Todd
 
 
--- JonCleaves@... wrote:
 
>
 
>
 
>  <<#1 - In your example of detachments (2.53, p. 16)
 
> you
 
>  said that countering the LHI back through the
 
>  elephants was legal, but disordering.>>
 
>
 
> 6.521, 5th bullet.  the elephants are disordered as
 
> they were interpenetrated
 
> by someone who is not LI.
 
>
 
>  << #2 - Support (5.131 p. 24) It states that Other
 
> troops
 
>  (inc. those in orb 6.44) are supported if there is
 
> a
 
>  steady friendly body anywhere w/in 240 paces.  Yet
 
> in
 
>  Orb (6.44 p. 53) it states that units in orb are
 
>  always supported.  Which on is it?>>
 
>
 
> Orbs are supported.  The line in 5.131 is poorly
 
> worded and will be added to
 
> the clarification sheet.
 
>
 
>  << #3 - Orders (4.51 p. 22).  Under Attack and
 
> Probe it
 
>  states that Bodies containing ANY Irreg A
 
> (including
 
>  missile troops) must charge (unprompted) if they
 
> can.
 
>  Yet in Delcaring Charges (6.163 p. 3  under
 
> prompting
 
>  it states that bodies that do NOT require prompting
 
> to
 
>  charge are: by a body ENTIRELY of Irreg A troops.
 
>  - I'm under the assumption that unless tired troops
 
>  containing ANY Irreg A must charge (unpromted) when
 
>  capable.  There is the stipulation under Probe
 
> about
 
>  the mounted troops (even if Irreg A) being unable
 
> to
 
>  charge steady close formation Pike or LTS.>>
 
>
 
> You are kinda mixing apples and oranges here.  4.51
 
> is more 'restrictive'
 
> than the general rule in every case.  6.163 ALWAYS
 
> applies.  4.51 may modify
 
> what is true in the rules based on what order you
 
> have.
 
> You do not have to prompt all Irr A bodies (6.163).
 
> But you don't HAVE to
 
> charge with them unless you have certain  orders
 
> (4.51).  4.51 wins all ties.
 
>
 
> Jon, filler of loopholes
 
>
 
 
 
__________________________________________________
 
Do You Yahoo!?
 
Yahoo! Sports - Coverage of the 2002 Olympic Games
 
http://sports.yahoo.com
 
 
                                                                                                             _________________ Nolite te Bastardes Carborundorum
 
"Don't let the Bastards Grind You Down" | 
			 
		  | 
	 
	
		| Back to top | 
		 | 
	 
	
		  | 
	 
	
		 | 
	 
 
  
	 
	    
	   | 
	
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum You cannot attach files in this forum You cannot download files in this forum
  | 
   
 
  
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group
  
		 |