View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
joncleaves Moderator


Joined: 29 Mar 2006 Posts: 16447
|
Posted: Sun Dec 28, 2003 3:12 am Post subject: Swiss Question |
 |
|
<<Jon,
Okay, what if the swiss unit were doubled in hand to hand and received
at least 1 cpf, would the halberd element still count steady?>>
Yes.
<< And in this scenario if it were steady, at what point would it not be
steady?>>
Once the combat on the bound of replacement is concluded.
[Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
_________________ Roll Up and Win! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Kelly Wilkinson Dictator

Joined: 12 Apr 2006 Posts: 4172 Location: Raytown, MO
|
Posted: Sun Dec 28, 2003 1:54 pm Post subject: Re: Swiss Question |
 |
|
Thank-you! :)
kelly
JonCleaves@... wrote:
<<Jon,
Okay, what if the swiss unit were doubled in hand to hand and received
at least 1 cpf, would the halberd element still count steady?>>
Yes.
<< And in this scenario if it were steady, at what point would it not be
steady?>>
Once the combat on the bound of replacement is concluded.
[Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
To unsubscribe from this group, send an email to:
WarriorRules-unsubscribe@egroups.com
---------------------------------
Yahoo! Groups Links
To visit your group on the web, go to:
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/WarriorRules/
To unsubscribe from this group, send an email to:
WarriorRules-unsubscribe@yahoogroups.com
Your use of Yahoo! Groups is subject to the Yahoo! Terms of Service.
---------------------------------
Do you Yahoo!?
Free Pop-Up Blocker - Get it now
[Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
_________________ Roll down and Win! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Kelly Wilkinson Dictator

Joined: 12 Apr 2006 Posts: 4172 Location: Raytown, MO
|
Posted: Sun Dec 28, 2003 1:56 pm Post subject: Re: Swiss Question |
 |
|
Jon,
May I email you off of the warrior page?
kelly
---------------------------------
Do you Yahoo!?
Free Pop-Up Blocker - Get it now
[Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
_________________ Roll down and Win! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Recruit

Joined: 12 Apr 2006 Posts: 112
|
Posted: Fri Jan 07, 2005 1:56 am Post subject: Re: Swiss Question |
 |
|
Jon
Based on the responses to questions posed earlier (message 10144,
10526 etc) my understanding of the Swiss combat rules is
* if Swiss pike/2HCT block beaten in 1st round of combat, unit will
be disordered
* if already disordered from prep shooting etc will be required to
take waver test (2nd cause of disorder)
* rear rank of 2HCT can charge through in 2nd bound
* these rear elements will be treated as steady in this next bound of
combat, but 2nd rank of P count as disordered
* enemy will not count as fighting disordered foot, as front rank
elements (now 2HCT) are steady
* enemy will not count Swiss as shieldless, as front rank is steady
2HCT
OK so far??
Can the 2nd rank of 2HCT replqce the front rank if a 2nd enemy body
strikes the Swiss unit in flank in 2nd bound?
Muz
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
joncleaves Moderator


Joined: 29 Mar 2006 Posts: 16447
|
Posted: Sat Jan 08, 2005 12:59 am Post subject: Re: Re: Swiss Question |
 |
|
* if Swiss pike/2HCT block beaten in 1st round of combat, unit will
be disordered
* if already disordered from prep shooting etc will be required to
take waver test (2nd cause of disorder)
* rear rank of 2HCT can charge through in 2nd bound
* these rear elements will be treated as steady in this next bound of
combat, but 2nd rank of P count as disordered
* enemy will not count as fighting disordered foot, as front rank
elements (now 2HCT) are steady
* enemy will not count Swiss as shieldless, as front rank is steady
2HCT
OK so far??>>
Looks good to me.
<<Can the 2nd rank of 2HCT replqce the front rank if a 2nd enemy body
strikes the Swiss unit in flank in 2nd bound?>>
No, a body gets to do that once per combat, no matter how many folks join it
later. For that body, its the same fight (subsequent bounds thereof..)
Jon
_________________ Roll Up and Win! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
joncleaves Moderator


Joined: 29 Mar 2006 Posts: 16447
|
Posted: Sat Jan 08, 2005 2:02 am Post subject: Re: Re: Swiss Question |
 |
|
In a message dated 1/7/2005 21:41:17 Central Standard Time,
mdevans@... writes:
So Jon, which phase in the bound does the 2HCT replacement normally
occur (ignoring the flank charge issue)?>>
It is done as part of the combat result of the initial bound of combat.
Jon
[Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
_________________ Roll Up and Win! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Recruit

Joined: 12 Apr 2006 Posts: 112
|
Posted: Sat Jan 08, 2005 6:40 am Post subject: Re: Swiss Question |
 |
|
--- In WarriorRules@yahoogroups.com, JonCleaves@a... wrote:
> * if Swiss pike/2HCT block beaten in 1st round of combat, unit will
> be disordered
> * if already disordered from prep shooting etc will be required to
> take waver test (2nd cause of disorder)
> * rear rank of 2HCT can charge through in 2nd bound
> * these rear elements will be treated as steady in this next bound
of
> combat, but 2nd rank of P count as disordered
> * enemy will not count as fighting disordered foot, as front rank
> elements (now 2HCT) are steady
> * enemy will not count Swiss as shieldless, as front rank is steady
> 2HCT
>
> OK so far??>>
>
> Looks good to me.
>
> <<Can the 2nd rank of 2HCT replace the front rank if a 2nd enemy
body
> strikes the Swiss unit in flank in 2nd bound?>>
>
> No, a body gets to do that once per combat, no matter how many
folks join it later. For that body, its the same fight (subsequent
bounds thereof..)
>
> Jon
So Jon, which phase in the bound does the 2HCT replacement normally
occur (ignoring the flank charge issue)?
Muz
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Recruit

Joined: 12 Apr 2006 Posts: 39
|
Posted: Tue Jan 18, 2005 11:13 pm Post subject: Re: Swiss Question |
 |
|
The clarifications below are great and answer all but two questions
I have regarding the Swiss Rules.
The line that says a single rank of pikeman can fight behind a
replacing element of 2HCT - does this mean that the pike can fight
until the current melee is ended or only in the bound that the
interpenetration takes place?
Below it says that a rear rank of 2HCT can charge through - does
this mean they get the +1 charging bonus against foot?
Cheers.....Geoff
--- In WarriorRules@yahoogroups.com, JonCleaves@a... wrote:
> * if Swiss pike/2HCT block beaten in 1st round of combat, unit
will
> be disordered
> * if already disordered from prep shooting etc will be required to
> take waver test (2nd cause of disorder)
> * rear rank of 2HCT can charge through in 2nd bound
> * these rear elements will be treated as steady in this next bound
of
> combat, but 2nd rank of P count as disordered
> * enemy will not count as fighting disordered foot, as front rank
> elements (now 2HCT) are steady
> * enemy will not count Swiss as shieldless, as front rank is
steady
> 2HCT
>
> OK so far??>>
>
> Looks good to me.
>
> <<Can the 2nd rank of 2HCT replqce the front rank if a 2nd enemy
body
> strikes the Swiss unit in flank in 2nd bound?>>
>
> No, a body gets to do that once per combat, no matter how many
folks join it later. For that body, its the same fight (subsequent
bounds thereof..)
>
> Jon
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
joncleaves Moderator


Joined: 29 Mar 2006 Posts: 16447
|
Posted: Fri Jan 21, 2005 6:24 pm Post subject: Re: Re: Swiss Question |
 |
|
<<The line that says a single rank of pikeman can fight behind a replacing
element of 2HCT - does this mean that the pike can fight
until the current melee is ended or only in the bound that the
interpenetration takes place?>>
[
The rank of pike can fight behind the rank of 2HCT throughout the combat, not
just the bound of rank exchange.
<<Below it says that a rear rank of 2HCT can charge through - does
this mean they get the +1 charging bonus against foot?>>
[
'charge through' is not in the list rule. no, there is no +1 modifier.
Jon
_________________ Roll Up and Win! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|