Warrior Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules
A Four Horsemen Enterprises Rules Set
 
  FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups AlbumAlbum   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Swiss Question

 
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules Forum Index -> Egroup Archives
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
joncleaves
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 16447

PostPosted: Sun Dec 28, 2003 3:12 am    Post subject: Swiss Question


<<Jon,
Okay, what if the swiss unit were doubled in hand to hand and received
at least 1 cpf, would the halberd element still count steady?>>

Yes.

<< And in this scenario if it were steady, at what point would it not be
steady?>>

Once the combat on the bound of replacement is concluded.




[Non-text portions of this message have been removed]


_________________
Roll Up and Win!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message  
Kelly Wilkinson
Dictator
Dictator


Joined: 12 Apr 2006
Posts: 4172
Location: Raytown, MO

PostPosted: Sun Dec 28, 2003 1:54 pm    Post subject: Re: Swiss Question


Thank-you! :)

kelly

JonCleaves@... wrote:
<<Jon,
Okay, what if the swiss unit were doubled in hand to hand and received
at least 1 cpf, would the halberd element still count steady?>>

Yes.

<< And in this scenario if it were steady, at what point would it not be
steady?>>

Once the combat on the bound of replacement is concluded.




[Non-text portions of this message have been removed]



To unsubscribe from this group, send an email to:
WarriorRules-unsubscribe@egroups.com





---------------------------------
Yahoo! Groups Links

To visit your group on the web, go to:
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/WarriorRules/

To unsubscribe from this group, send an email to:
WarriorRules-unsubscribe@yahoogroups.com

Your use of Yahoo! Groups is subject to the Yahoo! Terms of Service.



---------------------------------
Do you Yahoo!?
Free Pop-Up Blocker - Get it now

[Non-text portions of this message have been removed]


_________________
Roll down and Win!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message  
Kelly Wilkinson
Dictator
Dictator


Joined: 12 Apr 2006
Posts: 4172
Location: Raytown, MO

PostPosted: Sun Dec 28, 2003 1:56 pm    Post subject: Re: Swiss Question


Jon,
May I email you off of the warrior page?

kelly




---------------------------------
Do you Yahoo!?
Free Pop-Up Blocker - Get it now

[Non-text portions of this message have been removed]


_________________
Roll down and Win!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message  

Recruit
Recruit


Joined: 12 Apr 2006
Posts: 112

PostPosted: Fri Jan 07, 2005 1:56 am    Post subject: Re: Swiss Question


Jon

Based on the responses to questions posed earlier (message 10144,
10526 etc) my understanding of the Swiss combat rules is

* if Swiss pike/2HCT block beaten in 1st round of combat, unit will
be disordered
* if already disordered from prep shooting etc will be required to
take waver test (2nd cause of disorder)
* rear rank of 2HCT can charge through in 2nd bound
* these rear elements will be treated as steady in this next bound of
combat, but 2nd rank of P count as disordered
* enemy will not count as fighting disordered foot, as front rank
elements (now 2HCT) are steady
* enemy will not count Swiss as shieldless, as front rank is steady
2HCT

OK so far??

Can the 2nd rank of 2HCT replqce the front rank if a 2nd enemy body
strikes the Swiss unit in flank in 2nd bound?

Muz

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message  
joncleaves
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 16447

PostPosted: Sat Jan 08, 2005 12:59 am    Post subject: Re: Re: Swiss Question


* if Swiss pike/2HCT block beaten in 1st round of combat, unit will
be disordered
* if already disordered from prep shooting etc will be required to
take waver test (2nd cause of disorder)
* rear rank of 2HCT can charge through in 2nd bound
* these rear elements will be treated as steady in this next bound of
combat, but 2nd rank of P count as disordered
* enemy will not count as fighting disordered foot, as front rank
elements (now 2HCT) are steady
* enemy will not count Swiss as shieldless, as front rank is steady
2HCT

OK so far??>>

Looks good to me.

<<Can the 2nd rank of 2HCT replqce the front rank if a 2nd enemy body
strikes the Swiss unit in flank in 2nd bound?>>

No, a body gets to do that once per combat, no matter how many folks join it
later. For that body, its the same fight (subsequent bounds thereof..)

Jon


_________________
Roll Up and Win!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message  
joncleaves
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 16447

PostPosted: Sat Jan 08, 2005 2:02 am    Post subject: Re: Re: Swiss Question


In a message dated 1/7/2005 21:41:17 Central Standard Time,
mdevans@... writes:

So Jon, which phase in the bound does the 2HCT replacement normally
occur (ignoring the flank charge issue)?>>


It is done as part of the combat result of the initial bound of combat.

Jon








[Non-text portions of this message have been removed]


_________________
Roll Up and Win!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message  

Recruit
Recruit


Joined: 12 Apr 2006
Posts: 112

PostPosted: Sat Jan 08, 2005 6:40 am    Post subject: Re: Swiss Question


--- In WarriorRules@yahoogroups.com, JonCleaves@a... wrote:
> * if Swiss pike/2HCT block beaten in 1st round of combat, unit will
> be disordered
> * if already disordered from prep shooting etc will be required to
> take waver test (2nd cause of disorder)
> * rear rank of 2HCT can charge through in 2nd bound
> * these rear elements will be treated as steady in this next bound
of
> combat, but 2nd rank of P count as disordered
> * enemy will not count as fighting disordered foot, as front rank
> elements (now 2HCT) are steady
> * enemy will not count Swiss as shieldless, as front rank is steady
> 2HCT
>
> OK so far??>>
>
> Looks good to me.
>
> <<Can the 2nd rank of 2HCT replace the front rank if a 2nd enemy
body
> strikes the Swiss unit in flank in 2nd bound?>>
>
> No, a body gets to do that once per combat, no matter how many
folks join it later. For that body, its the same fight (subsequent
bounds thereof..)
>
> Jon

So Jon, which phase in the bound does the 2HCT replacement normally
occur (ignoring the flank charge issue)?

Muz

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message  

Recruit
Recruit


Joined: 12 Apr 2006
Posts: 39

PostPosted: Tue Jan 18, 2005 11:13 pm    Post subject: Re: Swiss Question


The clarifications below are great and answer all but two questions
I have regarding the Swiss Rules.
The line that says a single rank of pikeman can fight behind a
replacing element of 2HCT - does this mean that the pike can fight
until the current melee is ended or only in the bound that the
interpenetration takes place?
Below it says that a rear rank of 2HCT can charge through - does
this mean they get the +1 charging bonus against foot?


Cheers.....Geoff


--- In WarriorRules@yahoogroups.com, JonCleaves@a... wrote:
> * if Swiss pike/2HCT block beaten in 1st round of combat, unit
will
> be disordered
> * if already disordered from prep shooting etc will be required to
> take waver test (2nd cause of disorder)
> * rear rank of 2HCT can charge through in 2nd bound
> * these rear elements will be treated as steady in this next bound
of
> combat, but 2nd rank of P count as disordered
> * enemy will not count as fighting disordered foot, as front rank
> elements (now 2HCT) are steady
> * enemy will not count Swiss as shieldless, as front rank is
steady
> 2HCT
>
> OK so far??>>
>
> Looks good to me.
>
> <<Can the 2nd rank of 2HCT replqce the front rank if a 2nd enemy
body
> strikes the Swiss unit in flank in 2nd bound?>>
>
> No, a body gets to do that once per combat, no matter how many
folks join it later. For that body, its the same fight (subsequent
bounds thereof..)
>
> Jon

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message  
joncleaves
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 16447

PostPosted: Fri Jan 21, 2005 6:24 pm    Post subject: Re: Re: Swiss Question


<<The line that says a single rank of pikeman can fight behind a replacing
element of 2HCT - does this mean that the pike can fight
until the current melee is ended or only in the bound that the
interpenetration takes place?>>
[
The rank of pike can fight behind the rank of 2HCT throughout the combat, not
just the bound of rank exchange.

<<Below it says that a rear rank of 2HCT can charge through - does
this mean they get the +1 charging bonus against foot?>>
[
'charge through' is not in the list rule. no, there is no +1 modifier.

Jon


_________________
Roll Up and Win!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message  
Display posts from previous:   
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules Forum Index -> Egroup Archives All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group