 |
Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules A Four Horsemen Enterprises Rules Set
|
View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
joncleaves Moderator


Joined: 29 Mar 2006 Posts: 16447
|
Posted: Fri Apr 23, 2004 12:37 am Post subject: Re: TF Question |
 |
|
In a message dated 4/22/2004 20:16:41 Central Daylight Time, clr198@...
writes:
The question has to do with positioning TF's when they are in anything
but a straight line. One example, pertinent to some lists, has to do
with using a TF to protect a camp (some lists limit the TF to this
use). Since a camp has 6 exposed frontages, and the TF is 6 elements
long, this makes sense. My question though is how one measures 6
elements when there are corners.>>
The bottom diagram (camp only) is perfectly legal.
Also, this could apply if there are troops defending the camp or even
if you haver troops defending some TF and you would like it to be
curved (maybe wood plashing on the curved wood edge). In the figure, I
made some 20 pace deep TF "elements" (each one is 1 element wide).>>
The top diagram is *almost* legal, but not quite.
What the rules say, snipping out the parts irrelevant to this issue, is:
"Blocks may be modified to ...line a defended
feature, ..."
so what is happening to the left part of the diagram is ok and would also
guide placing plashing at a woods edge, etc.
and
" A block cannot face both front and flank,"
which makes the 90 degree bend in the unit in the right part of the diagram
illegal.
the way to do this is to keep 'bending' right without going to 90 deg until
there is no room for an enemy element to fit on the flank and not go off table.
this is easier if the camp is 4x1 as opposed to 2x2.
Please comment on what is acceptable here.
Thanks.
(I know I will only get in trouble if I actually try and use such
devices, but making them might be fun.)
[Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
_________________ Roll Up and Win! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Recruit

Joined: 12 Apr 2006 Posts: 234
|
Posted: Fri Apr 23, 2004 4:15 am Post subject: TF Question |
 |
|
Jon,
I uploaded a pdf to the list entitled TFIssues.pdf.
The question has to do with positioning TF's when they are in anything
but a straight line. One example, pertinent to some lists, has to do
with using a TF to protect a camp (some lists limit the TF to this
use). Since a camp has 6 exposed frontages, and the TF is 6 elements
long, this makes sense. My question though is how one measures 6
elements when there are corners.
Also, this could apply if there are troops defending the camp or even
if you haver troops defending some TF and you would like it to be
curved (maybe wood plashing on the curved wood edge). In the figure, I
made some 20 pace deep TF "elements" (each one is 1 element wide).
Please comment on what is acceptable here.
Thanks.
(I know I will only get in trouble if I actually try and use such
devices, but making them might be fun.)
-- Charles
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Recruit

Joined: 12 Apr 2006 Posts: 156
|
Posted: Tue Jan 03, 2006 9:53 pm Post subject: TF Question |
 |
|
All this discussion of TFs has led me to reread the rules, which in
turn left a series of questions.
A unit of LI is sheltering behind a 40 pace deep TF, and a unit of
HI wishes to charge them to clear it. As I read it, the HI unit
would have to move up until it was in contact with the TF along its
entire frontage, or it won't have the charge reach to cross the TF.
- Does the LI have to recall for being within 40 paces of close
order foot?
- In preparatory shooting can the HI declare cover from the TF if
the TF provides cover?
- If the LI evades the charge and the HI rolls short, does the HI
just stand there on the far side of the TF, and not cross it due to
the reduction in movement?
- If left standing there after the evade, and the TF provides cover,
can the HI declare as being in cover as the TF is no longer occupied?
Thanks
Cole
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
joncleaves Moderator


Joined: 29 Mar 2006 Posts: 16447
|
Posted: Tue Jan 03, 2006 10:58 pm Post subject: Re: TF Question |
 |
|
The LI does not have to recall.
The HI does not get cover from the TF in that case.
The HI can have its move reduced to 0p in a variable move.
Depends on the TF, but generally yes, once you are up against it alone, you are
now the one defending it.
J
-----Original Message-----
From: Nicholas Cioran <ncioran@...>
To: WarriorRules@yahoogroups.com
Sent: Tue, 03 Jan 2006 18:53:35 -0000
Subject: [WarriorRules] TF Question
All this discussion of TFs has led me to reread the rules, which in
turn left a series of questions.
A unit of LI is sheltering behind a 40 pace deep TF, and a unit of
HI wishes to charge them to clear it. As I read it, the HI unit
would have to move up until it was in contact with the TF along its
entire frontage, or it won't have the charge reach to cross the TF.
- Does the LI have to recall for being within 40 paces of close
order foot?
- In preparatory shooting can the HI declare cover from the TF if
the TF provides cover?
- If the LI evades the charge and the HI rolls short, does the HI
just stand there on the far side of the TF, and not cross it due to
the reduction in movement?
- If left standing there after the evade, and the TF provides cover,
can the HI declare as being in cover as the TF is no longer occupied?
Thanks
Cole
Yahoo! Groups Links
[Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
_________________ Roll Up and Win! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum You cannot attach files in this forum You cannot download files in this forum
|
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group
|