Warrior Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules
A Four Horsemen Enterprises Rules Set
 
  FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups AlbumAlbum   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

TF Question

 
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules Forum Index -> Egroup Archives
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
joncleaves
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 16447

PostPosted: Fri Apr 23, 2004 12:37 am    Post subject: Re: TF Question


In a message dated 4/22/2004 20:16:41 Central Daylight Time, clr198@...
writes:
The question has to do with positioning TF's when they are in anything
but a straight line. One example, pertinent to some lists, has to do
with using a TF to protect a camp (some lists limit the TF to this
use). Since a camp has 6 exposed frontages, and the TF is 6 elements
long, this makes sense. My question though is how one measures 6
elements when there are corners.>>

The bottom diagram (camp only) is perfectly legal.



Also, this could apply if there are troops defending the camp or even
if you haver troops defending some TF and you would like it to be
curved (maybe wood plashing on the curved wood edge). In the figure, I
made some 20 pace deep TF "elements" (each one is 1 element wide).>>

The top diagram is *almost* legal, but not quite.

What the rules say, snipping out the parts irrelevant to this issue, is:

"Blocks may be modified to ...line a defended
feature, ..."

so what is happening to the left part of the diagram is ok and would also
guide placing plashing at a woods edge, etc.

and

" A block cannot face both front and flank,"

which makes the 90 degree bend in the unit in the right part of the diagram
illegal.

the way to do this is to keep 'bending' right without going to 90 deg until
there is no room for an enemy element to fit on the flank and not go off table.
this is easier if the camp is 4x1 as opposed to 2x2.








Please comment on what is acceptable here.

Thanks.

(I know I will only get in trouble if I actually try and use such
devices, but making them might be fun.)


[Non-text portions of this message have been removed]


_________________
Roll Up and Win!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message  

Recruit
Recruit


Joined: 12 Apr 2006
Posts: 234

PostPosted: Fri Apr 23, 2004 4:15 am    Post subject: TF Question


Jon,

I uploaded a pdf to the list entitled TFIssues.pdf.

The question has to do with positioning TF's when they are in anything
but a straight line. One example, pertinent to some lists, has to do
with using a TF to protect a camp (some lists limit the TF to this
use). Since a camp has 6 exposed frontages, and the TF is 6 elements
long, this makes sense. My question though is how one measures 6
elements when there are corners.

Also, this could apply if there are troops defending the camp or even
if you haver troops defending some TF and you would like it to be
curved (maybe wood plashing on the curved wood edge). In the figure, I
made some 20 pace deep TF "elements" (each one is 1 element wide).

Please comment on what is acceptable here.

Thanks.

(I know I will only get in trouble if I actually try and use such
devices, but making them might be fun.)



-- Charles

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message  

Recruit
Recruit


Joined: 12 Apr 2006
Posts: 156

PostPosted: Tue Jan 03, 2006 9:53 pm    Post subject: TF Question


All this discussion of TFs has led me to reread the rules, which in
turn left a series of questions.

A unit of LI is sheltering behind a 40 pace deep TF, and a unit of
HI wishes to charge them to clear it. As I read it, the HI unit
would have to move up until it was in contact with the TF along its
entire frontage, or it won't have the charge reach to cross the TF.

- Does the LI have to recall for being within 40 paces of close
order foot?

- In preparatory shooting can the HI declare cover from the TF if
the TF provides cover?

- If the LI evades the charge and the HI rolls short, does the HI
just stand there on the far side of the TF, and not cross it due to
the reduction in movement?

- If left standing there after the evade, and the TF provides cover,
can the HI declare as being in cover as the TF is no longer occupied?

Thanks
Cole

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message  
joncleaves
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 16447

PostPosted: Tue Jan 03, 2006 10:58 pm    Post subject: Re: TF Question


The LI does not have to recall.
The HI does not get cover from the TF in that case.
The HI can have its move reduced to 0p in a variable move.
Depends on the TF, but generally yes, once you are up against it alone, you are
now the one defending it.

J

-----Original Message-----
From: Nicholas Cioran <ncioran@...>
To: WarriorRules@yahoogroups.com
Sent: Tue, 03 Jan 2006 18:53:35 -0000
Subject: [WarriorRules] TF Question


All this discussion of TFs has led me to reread the rules, which in
turn left a series of questions.

A unit of LI is sheltering behind a 40 pace deep TF, and a unit of
HI wishes to charge them to clear it. As I read it, the HI unit
would have to move up until it was in contact with the TF along its
entire frontage, or it won't have the charge reach to cross the TF.

- Does the LI have to recall for being within 40 paces of close
order foot?

- In preparatory shooting can the HI declare cover from the TF if
the TF provides cover?

- If the LI evades the charge and the HI rolls short, does the HI
just stand there on the far side of the TF, and not cross it due to
the reduction in movement?

- If left standing there after the evade, and the TF provides cover,
can the HI declare as being in cover as the TF is no longer occupied?

Thanks
Cole










Yahoo! Groups Links






[Non-text portions of this message have been removed]


_________________
Roll Up and Win!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message  
Display posts from previous:   
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Warrior Ancient and Medieval Rules Forum Index -> Egroup Archives All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group