| View previous topic :: View next topic | 
	
	
		| Author | Message | 
	
		| joncleaves Moderator
 
  
  
 Joined: 29 Mar 2006
 Posts: 16447
 
 
 | 
			
				|  Posted: Sun Dec 28, 2003 3:12 am    Post subject: Swiss Question |  |  
				| 
 |  
				| <<Jon,
 Okay, what if the swiss unit were doubled in hand to hand and received
 at least 1 cpf, would the halberd element still count steady?>>
 
 Yes.
 
 << And in this scenario if it were steady, at what point would it not be
 steady?>>
 
 Once the combat on the bound of replacement is concluded.
 
 
 
 
 [Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
 
 
 _________________
 Roll Up and Win!
 |  | 
	
		| Back to top |  | 
	
		|  | 
	
		| Kelly Wilkinson Dictator
 
  
 
 Joined: 12 Apr 2006
 Posts: 4172
 Location: Raytown, MO
 
 | 
			
				|  Posted: Sun Dec 28, 2003 1:54 pm    Post subject: Re: Swiss Question |  |  
				| 
 |  
				| Thank-you! :)
 
 kelly
 
 JonCleaves@... wrote:
 <<Jon,
 Okay, what if the swiss unit were doubled in hand to hand and received
 at least 1 cpf, would the halberd element still count steady?>>
 
 Yes.
 
 << And in this scenario if it were steady, at what point would it not be
 steady?>>
 
 Once the combat on the bound of replacement is concluded.
 
 
 
 
 [Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
 
 
 
 To unsubscribe from this group, send an email to:
 WarriorRules-unsubscribe@egroups.com
 
 
 
 
 
 ---------------------------------
 Yahoo! Groups Links
 
 To visit your group on the web, go to:
 http://groups.yahoo.com/group/WarriorRules/
 
 To unsubscribe from this group, send an email to:
 WarriorRules-unsubscribe@yahoogroups.com
 
 Your use of Yahoo! Groups is subject to the Yahoo! Terms of Service.
 
 
 
 ---------------------------------
 Do you Yahoo!?
 Free Pop-Up Blocker - Get it now
 
 [Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
 
 
 _________________
 Roll down and Win!
 |  | 
	
		| Back to top |  | 
	
		|  | 
	
		| Kelly Wilkinson Dictator
 
  
 
 Joined: 12 Apr 2006
 Posts: 4172
 Location: Raytown, MO
 
 | 
			
				|  Posted: Sun Dec 28, 2003 1:56 pm    Post subject: Re: Swiss Question |  |  
				| 
 |  
				| Jon,
 May I email you off of the warrior page?
 
 kelly
 
 
 
 
 ---------------------------------
 Do you Yahoo!?
 Free Pop-Up Blocker - Get it now
 
 [Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
 
 
 _________________
 Roll down and Win!
 |  | 
	
		| Back to top |  | 
	
		|  | 
	
		| Recruit
 
  
 
 Joined: 12 Apr 2006
 Posts: 112
 
 
 | 
			
				|  Posted: Fri Jan 07, 2005 1:56 am    Post subject: Re: Swiss Question |  |  
				| 
 |  
				| Jon
 
 Based on the responses to questions posed earlier (message 10144,
 10526 etc) my understanding of the Swiss combat rules is
 
 * if Swiss pike/2HCT block beaten in 1st round of combat, unit will
 be disordered
 * if already disordered from prep shooting etc will be required to
 take waver test (2nd cause of disorder)
 * rear rank of 2HCT can charge through in 2nd bound
 * these rear elements will be treated as steady in this next bound of
 combat, but 2nd rank of P count as disordered
 * enemy will not count as fighting disordered foot, as front rank
 elements (now 2HCT) are steady
 * enemy will not count Swiss as shieldless, as front rank is steady
 2HCT
 
 OK so far??
 
 Can the 2nd rank of 2HCT replqce the front rank if a 2nd enemy body
 strikes the Swiss unit in flank in 2nd bound?
 
 Muz
 
 
 |  | 
	
		| Back to top |  | 
	
		|  | 
	
		| joncleaves Moderator
 
  
  
 Joined: 29 Mar 2006
 Posts: 16447
 
 
 | 
			
				|  Posted: Sat Jan 08, 2005 12:59 am    Post subject: Re: Re: Swiss Question |  |  
				| 
 |  
				| * if Swiss pike/2HCT block beaten in 1st round of combat, unit will
 be disordered
 * if already disordered from prep shooting etc will be required to
 take waver test (2nd cause of disorder)
 * rear rank of 2HCT can charge through in 2nd bound
 * these rear elements will be treated as steady in this next bound of
 combat, but 2nd rank of P count as disordered
 * enemy will not count as fighting disordered foot, as front rank
 elements (now 2HCT) are steady
 * enemy will not count Swiss as shieldless, as front rank is steady
 2HCT
 
 OK so far??>>
 
 Looks good to me.
 
 <<Can the 2nd rank of 2HCT replqce the front rank if a 2nd enemy body
 strikes the Swiss unit in flank in 2nd bound?>>
 
 No, a body gets to do that once per combat, no matter how many folks join it
 later.  For that body, its the same fight (subsequent bounds thereof..)
 
 Jon
 
 
 _________________
 Roll Up and Win!
 |  | 
	
		| Back to top |  | 
	
		|  | 
	
		| joncleaves Moderator
 
  
  
 Joined: 29 Mar 2006
 Posts: 16447
 
 
 | 
			
				|  Posted: Sat Jan 08, 2005 2:02 am    Post subject: Re: Re: Swiss Question |  |  
				| 
 |  
				| In a message dated 1/7/2005 21:41:17 Central Standard Time,
 mdevans@... writes:
 
 So Jon, which  phase in the bound does the 2HCT replacement  normally
 occur (ignoring the flank charge  issue)?>>
 
 
 It is done as part of the combat result of the initial bound of  combat.
 
 Jon
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 [Non-text portions of this message have been removed]
 
 
 _________________
 Roll Up and Win!
 |  | 
	
		| Back to top |  | 
	
		|  | 
	
		| Recruit
 
  
 
 Joined: 12 Apr 2006
 Posts: 112
 
 
 | 
			
				|  Posted: Sat Jan 08, 2005 6:40 am    Post subject: Re: Swiss Question |  |  
				| 
 |  
				| --- In WarriorRules@yahoogroups.com, JonCleaves@a... wrote:
 > * if Swiss pike/2HCT block beaten in 1st round of combat, unit will
 > be disordered
 > * if already disordered from prep shooting etc will be required to
 > take waver test (2nd cause of disorder)
 > * rear rank of 2HCT can charge through in 2nd bound
 > * these rear elements will be treated as steady in this next bound
 of
 > combat, but 2nd rank of P count as disordered
 > * enemy will not count as fighting disordered foot, as front rank
 > elements (now 2HCT) are steady
 > * enemy will not count Swiss as shieldless, as front rank is steady
 > 2HCT
 >
 > OK so far??>>
 >
 > Looks good to me.
 >
 > <<Can the 2nd rank of 2HCT replace the front rank if a 2nd enemy
 body
 > strikes the Swiss unit in flank in 2nd bound?>>
 >
 > No, a body gets to do that once per combat, no matter how many
 folks join it later.  For that body, its the same fight (subsequent
 bounds thereof..)
 >
 > Jon
 
 So Jon, which  phase in the bound does the 2HCT replacement normally
 occur (ignoring the flank charge issue)?
 
 Muz
 
 
 |  | 
	
		| Back to top |  | 
	
		|  | 
	
		| Recruit
 
  
 
 Joined: 12 Apr 2006
 Posts: 39
 
 
 | 
			
				|  Posted: Tue Jan 18, 2005 11:13 pm    Post subject: Re: Swiss Question |  |  
				| 
 |  
				| The clarifications below are great and answer all but two questions
 I have regarding the Swiss Rules.
 The line that says a single rank of pikeman can fight behind a
 replacing element of 2HCT - does this mean that the pike can fight
 until the current melee is ended or only in the bound that the
 interpenetration takes place?
 Below it says that a rear rank of 2HCT can charge through - does
 this mean they get the +1 charging bonus against foot?
 
 
 Cheers.....Geoff
 
 
 --- In WarriorRules@yahoogroups.com, JonCleaves@a... wrote:
 > * if Swiss pike/2HCT block beaten in 1st round of combat, unit
 will
 > be disordered
 > * if already disordered from prep shooting etc will be required to
 > take waver test (2nd cause of disorder)
 > * rear rank of 2HCT can charge through in 2nd bound
 > * these rear elements will be treated as steady in this next bound
 of
 > combat, but 2nd rank of P count as disordered
 > * enemy will not count as fighting disordered foot, as front rank
 > elements (now 2HCT) are steady
 > * enemy will not count Swiss as shieldless, as front rank is
 steady
 > 2HCT
 >
 > OK so far??>>
 >
 > Looks good to me.
 >
 > <<Can the 2nd rank of 2HCT replqce the front rank if a 2nd enemy
 body
 > strikes the Swiss unit in flank in 2nd bound?>>
 >
 > No, a body gets to do that once per combat, no matter how many
 folks join it later.  For that body, its the same fight (subsequent
 bounds thereof..)
 >
 > Jon
 
 
 |  | 
	
		| Back to top |  | 
	
		|  | 
	
		| joncleaves Moderator
 
  
  
 Joined: 29 Mar 2006
 Posts: 16447
 
 
 | 
			
				|  Posted: Fri Jan 21, 2005 6:24 pm    Post subject: Re: Re: Swiss Question |  |  
				| 
 |  
				| <<The line that says a single rank of pikeman can fight behind a replacing
 element of 2HCT - does this mean that the pike can fight
 until the current melee is ended or only in the bound that the
 interpenetration takes place?>>
 [
 The rank of pike can fight behind the rank of 2HCT throughout the combat, not
 just the bound of rank exchange.
 
 <<Below it says that a rear rank of 2HCT can charge through - does
 this mean they get the +1 charging bonus against foot?>>
 [
 'charge through' is not in the list rule.  no, there is no +1 modifier.
 
 Jon
 
 
 _________________
 Roll Up and Win!
 |  | 
	
		| Back to top |  | 
	
		|  | 
	
		|  |